RSS

Basic reasons to automate testing.

15 Oct

Why to Automate?

Reusing the test scripts:
When you want to execute the regression test scripts after every build it makes more sense to automate them. In case of testing web based application there is a more need to automate as the test suite has to be run on various browsers like Internet Explorer, Firefox and other browsers.

Saves time:

Running unattended automated test scripts saves human time as well as machine time than executing scripts manually.
Better use of resource:

While automated scripts are running unattended on machines, testers can do more useful tasks.
Cost Saving:

On test engagements requiring a lot of regression testing, usage of automated testing reduces the people count and time requirement to complete the engagement and helps reduce the costs.

To Automate or Not to Automate?

It is not always advantageous to automate test cases. There are times when manual testing may be more appropriate.

For instance, if the application’s user interface will change considerably in the near future, then any automation would need to be rewritten. Also, sometimes there simply is not enough time to build test automation. For the short term, manual testing may be more effective. If an application has a very tight deadline, there is currently no test automation available, and it’s imperative that the testing get done within that time frame, then manual testing is the best solution.

Decide What Test Cases to Automate

  • Repetitive tests that run for multiple builds.
  • Tests that tend to cause human error.
  • Tests that require multiple data sets.
  • Frequently used functionality that introduces high risk conditions.
  • Tests those are impossible to perform manually.
  • Tests that run on several different hardware or software platforms and configurations.
  • Tests that take a lot of effort and time when manual testing.

Create Automated Tests that are Resistant to Changes in the UI

  • Automated tests created with scripts or keyword tests are dependent on the application under test.
  • The user interface of the application may change between builds, especially in the early stages. These changes may affect the test results, or your automated tests may no longer work with future versions of the application.
  • The problem is automated testing tools use a series of properties to identify and locate an object.
  • Sometimes a testing tool relies on location coordinates to find the object. For instance, if the location has changed, the automated test will no longer be able to find the object when it runs and will fail.
  • To run the automated test successfully, you may need to replace old names with new ones in the entire project, before running the test against the new version of the application.
  • However, if you provide unique names for your controls, it makes your automated tests resistant to these UI changes and ensures that your automated tests work without having to make changes to the test itself.
  • This also eliminates the automated testing tool from relying on location coordinates to find the control, which is less stable and breaks easily.
  • However, automation has specific advantages for improving the long-term efficiency of a software team’s testing processes.

Test automation supports:

• Frequent regression testing
• Rapid feedback to developers during the development process
• Virtually unlimited iterations of test case execution
• Customized reporting of application defects
• Disciplined documentation of test cases
• Finding defects missed by manual testing

Automated tests should be:

 

Concise: Test should be as simple as possible and no simpler.

Self Checking: Test should report its results such that no human interpretation is necessary.

Repeatable: Test can be run repeatedly without human intervention.

Robust: Test produces same result now and forever. Tests are not affected by changes in the external environment.

Sufficient: Tests verify all the requirements of the software being tested.

Necessary: Everything in each test contributes to the specification of desired behavior.

Clear: Every statement is easy to understand.

Efficient: Tests run in a reasonable amount of time.

Specific: Each test failure points to a specific piece of broken functionality (e.g. each test case tests one possible point of failure).

Independent: Each test can be run by itself or in a suite with an arbitrary set of other tests in any order.

Maintainable: Tests should be easy to modify and extend.

Traceable: Tests should be traceable to the requirements; requirements should be traceable to the tests.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2012 in AUTOMATION TESTING, HOME

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Basic reasons to automate testing.

  1. Rich Bibbs

    November 29, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

     
  2. woodworking projects

    December 5, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

     
  3. nat sherman cigarettes

    December 7, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site
    is magnificent, as well as the content!

     
  4. camel cigarettes website

    December 7, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You cann’t consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

     
  5. more cigarettes

    December 7, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    I pay a quick visit day-to-day a few web pages and sites
    to read articles or reviews, but this website gives feature based articles.

     
  6. Becky

    December 11, 2012 at 6:43 am

    I need to to thank you for this excellent read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you book marked to check out new things you post…

     
  7. dunhill international cigarettes

    December 11, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this amazing
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the information!

     
  8. Linda

    December 13, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    you are truly a excellent webmaster. The web site loading speed is
    amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a wonderful job in this matter!

     
  9. Thalia

    December 16, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Hello there, I discovered your site via Google while searching for a comparable topic, your web
    site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply become aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful should you proceed this in future. A lot of folks shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

     
  10. http://bargaincigarettesonline.com/

    December 18, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
    people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of
    text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

     
  11. winston cigarettes review

    December 18, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

     
  12. Wohnungen Antalya

    December 19, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

     
  13. used cars bedfordshire

    February 7, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    I want to to thank you for this good read!! I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

     
  14. cigar aficionado's cigar companion

    February 9, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

     
  15. edu.hj.cx

    February 10, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great writing,
    have a nice holiday weekend!

     
  16. http://community.huazone.net

    February 11, 2013 at 3:45 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will
    learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

     
  17. Truman List

    February 11, 2013 at 4:42 am

    I’m very happy to work on the internet but it’s hard sometimes…

     
  18. thecigarettesstore.com

    February 11, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    It’s awesome in favor of me to have a web site, which is valuable for my experience. thanks admin

     
  19. http://lovespot.ro/KathrynPKW

    February 11, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this web page is genuinely good and the users are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

     
  20. ps3 repair

    February 12, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks for every other excellent article. The place else may
    anybody get that type of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such info.

     
  21. raspberryketonesdiet.webs.com

    February 13, 2013 at 3:01 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page again.

     
  22. raspberry ketones

    February 13, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to
    and you are just extremely excellent. I actually like what you
    have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

    This is actually a great web site.

     
  23. http://www.us-arab.org

    February 14, 2013 at 8:09 am

    Wow, awesome weblog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for?

    you made blogging look easy. The entire glance of your website is magnificent, as
    neatly as the content material!

     
  24. thecigarettesstore.com

    February 14, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that this web site needs
    much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the information!

     
  25. green coffee beans

    February 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your
    theme? Outstanding work!

     
  26. Puregreencoffeebeansextract.Webs.com

    February 14, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Thank
    you

     
  27. Josh Gavalis

    February 14, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now ;)

     
  28. thecigarettesstore.com

    February 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back frequently!

     
  29. Diane

    February 14, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    I am really grateful to the owner of this web site who has shared this impressive paragraph at at this place.

     
  30. el-paso-tx-dentist.com

    February 15, 2013 at 1:15 am

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always exciting to read content from other authors and practice a little something from other sites.

     
  31. http://raspberryketonesdiet.webs.com

    February 15, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

     
  32. tattoo designs

    February 16, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    I go to see each day a few web pages and websites to read articles or reviews, except this website offers quality
    based content.

     
  33. Http://Thecigarettesstore.Com/

    February 16, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.

    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

     
  34. diablo 3 guide

    February 17, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue about this paragraph at this place at this web site, I have read all that, so at
    this time me also commenting here.

     
  35. how to get taller

    February 17, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

     
  36. Sylvester

    February 18, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, for
    the reason that i want enjoyment, for the
    reason that this this web page conations genuinely nice
    funny data too.

     
  37. Florida Bazil

    February 18, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    I just want to mention I’m very new to blogging and honestly liked you’re page. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You definitely have superb article content. With thanks for sharing with us your webpage.

     
  38. http://www.exactrelease.com

    February 18, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am genuinely
    impressed to read all at alone place.

     

Leave a Reply

 
